@ 2024 Advocate Channel.
All Rights reserved

Scarlett Johansen to Receive Historic American Cinematheque Award

Scarlett Johansen to Receive Historic American Cinematheque Award

Marriage Story

At this point, it seems that the Black Widow, Scarlett Johansson, has reached the zenith in her acting career. Yet, she's not finished. In November, Johansson will join the greats and be honored with the American Cinematheque Award at the Beverly Hilton.

It was announced on Tuesday that Scarlett Johansson will be the 35th recipient of the American Cinematheque Award in a tribute being planned for Thursday, November 18, 2021.

AC Board Chair Rick Nicita announced the selection commenting:

"Scarlett Johansson's career embodies the essence of the American Cinematheque award. Her immense talent has shone brightly from her movie debut as a child through her emergence as a megastar of blockbusters. She has acted in adventurous independent films with cutting-edge directors. She has starred in the most commercial of franchises. She has taken leading roles and supporting roles in movies budgeted big and small. Whenever she graces the screen with her luminous presence, the audience knows that they will see a dedicated artist at the height of her powers. We can't wait to share in the next phase of Scarlett Johansson's marvelous career."

A New York native, Johansson made her professional acting debut at the tender age of eight, and by twelve she attained worldwide recognition for her performance as Grace Maclean, a teen traumatized by a riding accident in Robert Redford's The Horse Whisperer. Johansson has since starred in an array of successful blockbuster movies, notably portraying Natasha Romanoff, a.k.a. Black Widow in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Johansson will make her eighth appearance as her previous superhero in her long-awaited solo film Black Widow.

Johansson also received critical acclaim for her role as Nicole Barber, opposite Adam Driver in Marriage Story as well as her role as Rozie Betzler in Jojo Rabbit, both of which she received Oscar nominations.

Her other film credits include: Hail, Caesar!, The Jungle Book, Sing, Chef, The Avengers, Don Jon, Hitchcock, We Bought A Zoo, Iron Man 2, In Good Company, A Love Song for Bobby Long, Match Point, He's Just Not That Into You, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, The Other Boleyn Girl, The Spirit, Girl with a Pearl Earring, and more.

Previous American Cinematheque Award honorees include: Eddie Murphy (1986); Bette Midler (1987); Robin Williams (1988); Steven Spielberg (1989); Ron Howard (1990); Martin Scorsese (1991); Sean Connery (1992); Michael Douglas (1993); Rob Reiner (1994); Mel Gibson (1995); Tom Cruise (1996); John Travolta (1997); Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998); Jodie Foster (1999); Bruce Willis (2000); Nicolas Cage (2001); Denzel Washington (2002); Nicole Kidman (2003); Steve Martin (2004); Al Pacino (2005); George Clooney (2006); Julia Roberts (2007); Samuel L. Jackson (2008); Matt Damon (2010); Robert Downey Jr. (2011); Ben Stiller (2012); Jerry Bruckheimer (2013); Matthew McConaughey (2014); Reese Witherspoon (2015); Ridley Scott (2016); Amy Adams (2017); Bradley Cooper (2018); Charlize Theron (2019) and Spike Lee (2020).

From our sponsors

From our partners

Top Stories

Luke Keller