@ 2024 Advocate Channel.
All Rights reserved

2021 Independent Spirit Award Nominees Announced

2021 Independent Spirit Award Nominees Announced

Michael Potts, Chadwick Boseman, and Colman Domingo

The Independent Spirit Awards recognize and honor independent filmmakers who create the most compelling and inspiring pieces. This year's nominees have been announced and we have the full list.

So many amazing films, directors, and actors are being recognized for their work at the 2021 Independent Spirit Awards happening April 22nd.

Best Feature Nominees

  • "First Cow"
  • "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"
  • "Minari"
  • "Never Rarely Sometimes Always"
  • "Nomadland"

Best Director Nominees

Best First Feature Nominees

Best Female Lead Nominees

Best Male Lead Nominees

Other Nominations Include

Best Supporting Female

  • Alexis Chikaeze, "Miss Juneteenth"
  • Yeri Han, "Minari"
  • Valerie Mahaffey, "French Exit"
  • Talia Ryder, "Never Rarely Sometimes Always"
  • Yuh-jung Youn, "Minari"
Best Supporting Male
  • Colman Domingo, "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"
  • Orion Lee, "First Cow"
  • Paul Raci, "Sound of Metal"
  • Glynn Turmann, "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"
  • Benedict Wong, "Nine Days"
Best ScreenplayBest First ScreenplayBest Cinematography
  • Jay Keitel, "She Dies Tomorrow"
  • Shabier Kirchner, "Bull"
  • Michael Latham, "The Assistant"
  • Hélène Louvart, "Never Rarely Sometimes Always"
  • Joshua James Richards, "Nomadland"
Best EditingRobert Altman AwardBest DocumentaryBest International FilmPiaget Producers Award
  • Kara Durrett
  • Lucas Joaquin
  • Gerry Kim
Someone to Watch Award
  • David Midell, "The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain"
  • Ekwa Msangi, "Farewell Amor"
  • Annie Silverstein, "Bull"
Truer Than Fiction Award
  • Cecilia Aldarondo, "Landfall"
  • Elegance Bratton, "Pier Kids"
  • Elizabeth Lo, "Stray"
John Cassavetes Awards
  • "The Killing of Two Lovers"
  • "La Leyenda Negra"
  • "Lingua Franca"
  • "Residue"
  • "Saint Frances"
Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary SeriesBest Scripted SeriesBest Female Performance in a Scripted SeriesBest Male Performance in a Scripted Series

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series
"I May Destroy You"
Ensemble Cast: Michaela Coel, Paapa Essiedu, Wruche Opia, Stephen Wight

The 2021 Independent Spirit Awards take place on April 22 and can be viewed on IFC or AMC+.

michael pottschadwick bosemancolman domingoindependent spirit awardsindies2021 independent spirit awardsbest featurefirst cowma rainey's black bottomminarinever rarely sometimes alwaysnomadlandbest directorlee isaac chungemerald fennellpromising young womaneliza hittmankelly reichardtchloe zhaobest first featurei carry you with methe 40 year old versionthe sound of metalmiss juneteenthnine daysbest female leadnicole beharieviola davissidney flaniganjulia garnerthe assistantfrances mcdormandcarey mulliganbest male leadriz ahmedrob morganbullsteven yeunadarsh gouravthe white tigerbest supporting femalealexis chikaezeyeri hanvalerie mahaffeyfrench exittalia ryderyuh-iung younbest supporting maleorion leepaul raciglynn turmannbenedict wongbad educationthe half of itkitty greennoah huttonlapsischanning godfrey peoplesandy siarapalm springsjames sweeneystraight upbest first screenplaybest screenplaybest cinematographyjay keitelshe dies tomorrowshabier kirchnermichael lathamhelene louvartjoshua james richardsbest editingthe invisible manresiduerobert altman awardone night in miamibest documentarycollectivecrip campdick johnson is deadtimethe mole agentbest international filmbacurauthe disciplenight of the kingspreparations to be together for an unknown period of timequo vadis aida?piaget producers awardkara durrettlucas joaquingerry kimsomeone to watchdavid midellthe killing of kenneth chamberlainekwa msangifarewell amorannie silversteintruer than fictioncecilia aldarondolandfallelegance brattonpier kidselizabeth lostrayjohn cassavetes awardsthe killing of two loversla leyenda negralingua francasaint francesbest new non-spcripted or documentary seriesaltlanta's missing and murdered: the lost childrencity so realimmigration nationlove fraudwe're herebest scripted seriesi may destroy youlittle americasmall axea teacherunorthodoxbest female performance in a scripted serieselle fanningthe greatshira haasabby mcenanywork in progressmaitreyi ramakrishnannever have i everjordan kristine seamonwe are who we arebest male performance in a scripted seriesconphidanceadam alinicco annanp-valleyamit rahavharold torreszero zero zeromichaela coelpaapa essieduwruche opiastephen wrightifcamcaward seasonaward show

From our sponsors

From our partners

Top Stories

Makayla Leilua